ANSWER: (1) There are a large number of international agreements/conventions that in one way or another concern young people, children and persons with disabilities, since human rights are universal as inherent rights of every human being. These conventions will contain provisions which, although not specifically addressed to young people, children or persons with disabilities, will confer certain rights on them on the grounds that they are human beings. An unused list of these conventions is provided (see list below). (2) There are indeed a number of conventions that deal specifically with the rights of the child on the list. At present, there is no legally binding international agreement and/or convention specifically on young people. The international community has not yet been able to agree on the definition of “youth”. Nor is there currently a legally binding international agreement or convention specifically for persons with disabilities. South Africa has a population of 56.4 million (2018 figures). It has 11 official languages: Sepedi, Sesotho, Setswana, siSwati, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Afrikaans, English, isiNdebele, isiXhosa and isiZulu. Zulu, Xhosa, Afrikaans and English are the first most spoken languages. Mr. VC GORE (ID) TO ASK THE MINISTER OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS: This is a general guide to help you explore all aspects of South African law. See also the South Africa page in our Research Guide to Human Rights Law.

(3) List of conventions directly or indirectly applicable to young people, children and persons with disabilities: The modern Republic of South Africa comprises the four former provinces that became the Union of South Africa in 1910: two former British colonies (Natal and Cape Colony) and two former Boer republics (Transvaal and Orange Free State). International agreements and/or conferences signed by South Africa with regard to youth, children and persons with disabilities, in particular with regard to the United Nations and the African Union The President is Head of State and governs with a cabinet composed of ministers and deputy ministers who head the various national government departments. .